Feet first into a world with no car!!

3 02 2010

CTtransit Bus

CTtransit 'C' Line bus pulls into a stop. Note: Awesome bikerack on front!


About a month, or so, ago my trusted trooper of a station wagon hurled it’s oil all over the pavement. In doing so, it declared that 11 years and 200,000 miles was all it could handle. Feeling that she had served me well in the 5 years I owned her I called my mechanic, not to diagnose the malady but, rather, to deliver last-rites. I had started commuting on my bicycle to work a few months earlier just to help lighten the load I placed weekly on my poor wagon. I had been toying with the idea of what to do when and if she finally gave out on me. When she died I had already been preparing myself for the next logical step. I knew I couldn’t afford to replace the car. The cost of the gasoline and insurance were really weighing me down. It seemed like EVERY time I got in my car it cost me a minimum of $10.00. Could I? Should I? Yes, I think I can make this work. So, I declared to the surprise of friends and family that I had no intention of either fixing or replacing my car. They were shocked!

Well, here I am 6 weeks later and it really hasn’t been all that bad. Luckily I live close to the New Haven bus routes in these cold winter months. Every morning I ride my bicycle to the bus. Load it up on those great front bike racks and take the CTtransit bus into New Haven. Once there, I unload my bicycle and pedal the rest of the way to work. I have also ridden the 14 miles each way a few times in 20 degree weather. Even when traveling furyther away from home I have been finding the variety of train service from New Haven easy to use. Shoreline East, Metro-North, and Amtrak have a wide service area eminating from New Haven. The cost of a train to Springfield is little more than I used to pay to drive my car.

So, my motivations for creating this blog are two-fold. One is to share stories, photos and experiences of my daily 14 mile(each way) commutes. But, the other is to explore, road test, and report on a variety of bicycle and commuter accessories. I have over 20 years of experience working as a professional mechanic in shops in both Connecticut and Colorado. I would like to use this blog as an opportunity to share some of the bicycle knowledge and experience I have accrued over the years.

Actions

Information

One response

29 03 2010
sara

Congrats on your blog. The layout is great and your photos are excellent. I am looking forward to reading your bike adventures here in New Haven, reviews, advice, etc. Give a shout-out when you want to take the Baks for the day…

Leave a Reply

